Bring out the kid in us


I’ve a 3 year old , so i can easily relate to when people say “Kids grow fast “, as I’ve seen my kid grow by leaps and bounds in these 3 years. From being a toddler who learnt first how to turn on her back ; then to crawl ; to walk ; to run and to talk. For someone to do all this in just 2 years is incredible.

I think the reason why kids are so good at what they do is because they are open minded, no inhibitions, always eager to learn , unlearn and above all are very honest with their intentions.

Unfortunately the need for learning doesn’t stop here, however , the process of learning does, or at least slows down by leaps and bounds when we grow up. We are so ‘knowledge full‘  that we refuse to accept there is  any scope for unlearning and learning.

I wish there was a trigger  that would bring out the kid in us as and when needed. Since that’s not possible, we need to find ways to bring out the kid in us 🙂

For kids , life is less complex. Simple and small things make them happy or unhappy. Some things that make my daughter happy

  • A pink donut over the weekend.
  • A trip to the park over the weekend where she would say hi to the ducks , slide and swing.
  • good night story
  • play with me or her mother.

On the other hand, life for us , adults is complex. Not because it’s complex by nature, but may be because we tend to make it complex. The song in 3 Idiots sums it all

Saari umar hum
Mar mar ke jee liye
Ek pal to ab humein jeene do
Jeene do

Na na na….Na na na….Na na na….Na na nana na….

Give me some sunshine
Give me some rain
Give me another chance
I wanna grow up once again

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

