Disrupt Me and Destroy Me


I write this with immense pain in my heart, just like how i did every single time (One such post was an RTI that I had filed: https://sureshe.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/rejected-rejected-and-rejected/)

Why are you bombing India, year after year, city after city, killing children, men, women of all religions, all castes, and all walks of life? Let me remind you something

• If your intention is to disrupt the communal harmony, there is enough disruption already. Thanks to our progressive leadership
• If your intention is to create fear, then there is enough fear already. Women fear sexual harassment; men who raise voice against injustice fear assassination, children fear fatal diseases such as diarrhea
• If your intention is to slow our economy down, it doesn’t matter because more than 70% of India lives below poverty line although that may have changed slightly with new policies i.e. Rs 27 a day is the new poverty line
• If your intention is to kill innocent people, just look around, fire accidents in theaters, factories, stampedes in temples
• If your intention is to test our intelligence, then dont bother , Our leaders have already nailed it down depending on which religion the leader belongs to, they have already identified who the culprit is
• If your intention is to try our judiciary, then be assured, that even the top criminal in our country walks free with his head held high
• If your intention is to disrupt my life, the common man, then don’t, I will simply crib about it or may be protest and I will go back to my life
• If your intention is to simply be inhuman, barbaric, ruthless, then let me warn you, it’s a stiff competition

And as you can see there is really no reason why you have to do this. So stop the mindless killing!

I’m not sure what i should infer from the above, but I know this much, the more I confine myself to I, Me and Myself (includes family) the world around me is going to crumble because
• They are united in their resolve to hurt us, and we are not – we are fighting amongst ourselves
• They are far too advanced in technology, and we are not – we are far too backward
• They have a single agenda, and we have no agenda

I don’t remember when was the last time I questioned my local corporator, the municipal councilor, the MLA, the CM, the MP!

I don’t remember when was the last time I filed an RTI, I filed a PIL or even filed a simple complaint with the authorities!

I don’t remember when was the last time I spared a thought for the farmer who committed suicide or the women who was raped or the girl child who was killed or the engineer who was killed!

I’m afraid if I still confine myself to I, ME and MYSELF, then I might as well lay down a red carpet for anyone to simply come disrupt me and destroy me!

One thought on “Disrupt Me and Destroy Me

Add yours

  1. Go Suresh – a powerful piece of writing indeed and it fires up ones soul with indignation at the mindless tragedy and level of human ignorance and depravity that can justify, instigate (it is always carried out by low-level soldiers), plan, prepare and then execute these atrocities. Your writing is like a mirror with the finger pointing right back at oneself for not “acting” on this indignation and I am as guilty as many of that. It takes a clean mirror (not blurry) to help me actually articulate to myself that “may be” and just “may be” I am not doing enough to remove these scourges from the planet – especially when I stand privileged with freedom around me, some disposable income and the intellectual and moral basis to bear upon the problem. Yes, the problem is larger than life and it will take the murmuring voices of goodness to band together and seek the solution.

    This blog-post written style is a beautiful rough-cut prosody and in my opinion it makes for excellent lyrics that can be set to music – may be that last nights Ilayaraja concert is influencing my thoughts here but I wish the legend can be humbly requested to set the above lines to music.

    What jumps immediately to my mind as I read the above blog-post are the lyrics and songs of Bob Dylans “Blowin in the wind” and John Lennon’s “Imagine”. Both of these songs touched so many lives and their lyrics are timeless and apply completely to our current affairs. I listen to these songs when I need to reset my soul and remember my priorities and away from I, Me and myself. Thank you for the blog post. I am pasting the lyrics of the two songs below –

    “Blowin’ In The Wind” by Bob Dylan

    How many roads must a man walk down
    Before you call him a man?
    How many seas must a white dove sail
    Before she sleeps in the sand?
    Yes, how many times must the cannon balls fly
    Before they’re forever banned?
    The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind
    The answer is blowin’ in the wind.

    Yes, how many years can a mountain exist
    Before it’s washed to the sea?
    Yes, how many years can some people exist
    Before they’re allowed to be free?
    Yes, how many times can a man turn his head
    Pretending he just doesn’t see?
    The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind
    The answer is blowin’ in the wind.

    Yes, how many times must a man look up
    Before he can really see the sky?
    Yes, how many ears must one man have
    Before he can hear people cry?
    Yes, how many deaths will it take till he knows
    That too many people have died?
    The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind
    The answer is blowin’ in the wind.

    “Imagine” by John Lennon

    Imagine there’s no heaven
    It’s easy if you try
    No hell below us
    Above us only sky
    Imagine all the people living for today

    Imagine there’s no countries
    It isn’t hard to do
    Nothing to kill or die for
    And no religion too
    Imagine all the people living life in peace

    You, you may say
    I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
    I hope some day you’ll join us
    And the world will be as one

    Imagine no possessions
    I wonder if you can
    No need for greed or hunger
    A brotherhood of man
    Imagine all the people sharing all the world

    You, you may say
    I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
    I hope some day you’ll join us
    And the world will live as one

    &&&&&&&&&&&&&&&& amen – Subbarao

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

