(Un) lucky to be born


(Un)Lucky to be born

I was lucky to be born for I could have been killed inside the womb: 0 – 9 months

I was happy: 1 – 4 years old

I got worried and lived under constant fear of rape, assault, sexual abuse from the neighbors, the family, the strangers and from everyone except myself: 5 to 18 years

I got married only to realize now I’m being harassed for dowry, sex or something else
I lost my husband and the society disowned me
I am too old and now I’m simply left to die alone

I wonder if I ever lived my life, at least for once – born as a girl child

And we worry about terrorism
And we worry about nuclear weapons
Wonder when we would start worrying about the Moral values, about the Men, about the Male dominated society, about the Patriarchal society – Oh that’s right we have to reach the moon, the Mars and find if life exists there, for we have ruined everything on the earth !

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

